Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class wpdb in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 56

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/cache.php on line 36

Strict Standards: Redefining already defined constructor for class WP_Object_Cache in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/cache.php on line 384

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 541

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 541

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 541

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Page::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 541

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_PageDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 560

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::start_lvl($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 659

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_lvl() should be compatible with Walker::end_lvl($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 659

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 659

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_Category::end_el() should be compatible with Walker::end_el($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 659

Strict Standards: Declaration of Walker_CategoryDropdown::start_el() should be compatible with Walker::start_el($output) in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/classes.php on line 684

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/query.php on line 21

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/theme.php on line 540

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel/reader.php on line 261
Rebtel Review | Mobile VoIP Service Reviews

Rebtel Review




Strict Standards: call_user_func_array() expects parameter 1 to be a valid callback, non-static method Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel::parse() should not be called statically in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-includes/plugin.php on line 59

Strict Standards: Non-static method Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel::replace() should not be called statically in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel.php on line 56

Strict Standards: Non-static method Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel::replace() should not be called statically in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel.php on line 56

Strict Standards: Non-static method Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel::comment() should not be called statically in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel.php on line 100

Strict Standards: Non-static method Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel::comment() should not be called statically in /home/mvr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel/Puchlerz_Wordpress_Excel.php on line 131
Overall Rating
2.6 (52%)
Sound Quality
2.8 (56%)
Reliability
2.4 (49%)
Ease of Use
2.7 (54%)
Features
2.7 (53%)
Customer Service
2.2 (44%)
Price
2.9 (57%)

Rebtel Overview

Rebtel is a mobile VoIP call back service. With Rebtel you give them the phone number of a friend in another country, and we give you a local number for them. You then save this number on your mobile so you can call your friend whenever you want, for a fraction of your normal international rate. Now, if your friend also has Rebtel, you can call each other for absolutely free. First, call your friend on their Rebtel number. Then, ask your friend to call you back. Tell them to use the number shown on their phone screen. From there, stay on the line. In a few seconds your friend will join you back on the call.
Basic Info Rebtel Answers
Headquarters Stockholm, Sweden
Year Established 2006
Call Type(s) Mobile VoIP Call Back Service
Compatible Phones You can use Rebtel from any cellular, VoIP or land-line telephone.
Availability Rebtel service is available anywhere there is a cellular, landline or VoIP connection.
Free Calls Rebtel users can make free calls to all Rebtel users.
Phone Number With Rebtel there is no need for a new phone number as Rebtel uses your existing cellular, VoIP or land-line telephone to give you free and low cost calling. Rebtel works by taking your existing phone number and assigning it a Rebtel number that other Rebtel users can also use to call you for free. The only new number you will need is a Rebtel local access number that is provided to you when you sign-up.
Calling Rates Rebtel offers low cost international calls and free in country calling to other Rebtel users
SMS Rebtel allows you to initiate phone calls via SMS, but does not offer SMS services
Instant Messaging Rebtel does not offer instant messaging services
Special Features With Rebtel there is no need for a new phone number as Rebt uses your existing cellular, VoIP or land-line telephone to give you free and low cost calling. You can access their service via SMS, via the web (or via a mobile web browser) in addition to your VoIP, cellular or landline telephone.

Click Here for Exclusive Rebtel Offers!


Pay only for the time you talk: Six second billing after the first minute, no contract, no hidden fees. Try Rebtel Today!

62 Reviews of “Rebtel Review”

  1. Rupesh Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    4 (80%)
    Ease of Use
    4 (80%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    4 (80%)

    it is really good.

  2. Paschal Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I am comparing it to the best calling card for the money out there. This is better than any calling service I have used. The call quality and price are very good. The call log is even better than regular telephone service.

  3. Ramakrishnan Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    3 (60%)
    Reliability
    2 (40%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I am not able to use the service at least 20% of the time. There is no customer serice number to call after that too which makes it even more difficult.

  4. RS Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    They are terrible. I agree with the comment above saying if you have problems with their service they will reply eventually…but what good is it when it doesn’t even address the issue let alone answer any questions.

    Too many options on the market, I gave my money to rebtel not going to throw any more away.

    Oh yes, they also charge you when there is no pick up (you guessed it, even if there is no voicemail or answering machine on the other end). Also, calls dropped all the time. And the quality was bad! No matter what destination I called from or called to same issues.

    Rebtel is terrible, avoid is your like to get quality service.

  5. Robert Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I call Mexico all the time. Their service is great, never had a problem! Despite the previous review, I’ve never gotten charged for when the other party does not answer, nor when I’m sent to voicemail. I think they may need more time to continue building their network and fix a few bugs, but overall, I give them an A+. Rebtel is way better than other services, such as Sprint, which cost a fortune to make international calls!

  6. Scott Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Excellent money saver. Once set up, calling is easy. I’ve had no drop calls and the sound quality is top-notch. Highly recommended.

  7. Jafet Villasenor Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I don’t see why people above complain. They are almost calling for free and they are still wondering why it is so. The necesary features are exellent and more customer service may increase prices. I good without custumer service!

  8. umathew Says:
    Overall Rating
    4 (80%)
    Sound Quality
    4 (80%)
    Reliability
    4 (80%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I don’t know whether any one else has noticed this. When we call someone through rebtel, I feel that rebtel is generating a ringing tone eventhough the actual connection is not established yet…This is like a making the caller happy (sort of) feature but i hate it. I would like it to hear the ringing when the person whom i am calling actually hear his fone ring.

  9. Khan Shaab Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    THE BEST SERVICE! just check the rating of Rebtel and the rest. I see people are complaining about their customer service, I have sent them two e-mails and I was satisfied. They have responded to me very quickly, problem was solved. The price is unbeatable. For example, most of the VoIP charges more than .18cents to call Bangladesh, Rebtel only charges .03cents plus I can talk to my friends for free in Italy which is a big plus. I can call people using Skype via Rebtel and at Rebtel fees. That is my favorite feature, i do not have to waste my minutes. I can just log on my laptop anywhere i have internet i can call for free.

  10. asfaw Says:
    Overall Rating
    4 (80%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    3 (60%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    I love rebtel. I spend between $60-$80 every month, and don’t mind giving them my money. But the downside to rebtail is customer service is only available via email, and rates for Developing countries are not the best compered with most phone cards.
    Plenty of room for improvement, and I have witnessed some, but still looking forward for more .
    enjoy

  11. jane donald Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Cheap yes, quality non existent. First month it was great, clear connection no issues. I just called 5 times and all I got was severe static! Miserable!

  12. KEJA Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    3 (60%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Hear a ring while server forewards the call is a good thing, otherwise if lengthy you may think the conection failed. Many of you may not be aware that the same happens when calling a mobile phone other than one on the same carrier. The calling party may hear 5 rings before the cell/phone actually rings 3. No wonder some hang-up after 6 rings. I love Rebtel’s ease of use, quality and price.

  13. Tek Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    4 (80%)
    Reliability
    3 (60%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    My main persistent problem is being charged for calls that do not connect. I tried making calls to different contacts in the same county and city, with the exact same result of charges for calls that do not go through. I am thinking of cancelling my service all together. Maddening!

  14. promo Says:
    Overall Rating
    4 (80%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    4 (80%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    3 (60%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    the sound quality is very good. the price is very cheap. you can use it to make a very cheap international call. Now I am using it with a Nokia 5800 phone using skype mobile. highly recommend.

  15. Bee Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    Has anybody had the problem of Rebtel people NOT returning emails? I’ve had a rather painful and depressing PERSONAL experience recently where I received NO response from the Rebtel people for 12+ emails I had sent them making a simple, routine customer inquiry!

    At one point (the ONLY time, really, that I got even an actualy personal acknowledgment to my letters from any of them), one of their personnel, one Ms. Danielle, sent me a few lines claiming I had sent my mails (the one she received)to a section of Rebtel that did not handle my issue, and that she had redirected it to the “proper” Rebtel section and for me to expect prompt response from the Rebtel woman in charge, a Ms Anna.

    But yet, still NO response from Anna or anybody else to this point - OVER a period of 7 days! I have sent still more mail thereafter addressed to both Danielle, Ann, Alex Drewniak, all Rebtel workers. Yet, still NO response from them to my mails!

    Incredible! Just can’t understand it!! This is supposed to be a fairly decent company otherwise, isn’t it?

    Has anybody had such a harrowing experience with Rebtel? Any remedies you can think of? Remember that they have adamantly refused or neglected to leave any PHONE NUMBERS that customers can use to reach them in situations like this!

    I’d appreciate any suggestions. Is there anybody who may have some phone #’s for Rebtel by which I can try to contact them, maybe?

    Thank you.
    Aggrieved.

  16. michael Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    i like it but i think its stupid u have to get them to call u back to get the call free and then have to stay on the phone u shud either get it free or not

  17. Bee Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Actually, I was the one who had written a somewhat “negative” complaint about Rebtel’s service about a week or so ago, complaining at the time that the Rebtel people were taking far too much time, or not even responding at all, in answering my emails to them on an inquiry.

    I just wish to hurry and post this corrective and update. Just to say that Rebtel has since offered me the proper communication and response, and the whole matter is all straightened out between me and Rebtel now.

    It’s all great now with Rebtel and the service phone offered Rebtel!
    Thank you.
    Bee
    PS: Please correct. In my first post, though it shows otherwise, I never actually gave any “grades” to the ratings offered. I’m giving those rations on this posting.

  18. Steve Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    4 (80%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    3 (60%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I’m really struggling with this service…I use the iPhone app all the time to send messages but I’ve tried using the Double Dial feature and dialling over the web and both times I get muffled sound and a huge delay! The first time I called from my iPhone I couldn’t recognise my girlfriend’s voice!

    I’ve given Customer Service 3 but haven’t tried to contact them yet…just wondered if others were experiencing simlar problems and there are any solutions??? I find it weird that I’m suffering bad sound while others are getting great sound (are you paying extra???) ;)

  19. Michalska Reviews Rebtel Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    Great service, I recommend it to all my friends. Unlike many services, it works worldwide and you get rewarded for recruiting new folks.

  20. Mozammel Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    3 (60%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    3 (60%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    Very bad about their charges. Rebtel charges those calls are not established. Very frustrating when rebtel charged me the duration of 1hr 22 min while call is even not established.
    e.g. I tried (1) call on 6/1/2010 1:05:01 PM from my home# to destination# — call was not established then again I tried (2) on 6/1/2010 1:14:12 PM
    from my same home# to same destination#
    I call for

    6/1/2010 1:14:12 PM Double dial 1214281**** 880155238**** 00:08:47 (0.288) 8.976
    6/1/2010 1:05:01 PM Credit Auto recharge credit by MC **** **** **** **** 10.000 9.264
    6/1/2010 1:02:51 PM Double dial 1214281**** 880155238**** 01:22:02 (2.656) (0.736)
    6/1/2010 10:37:52 AM Direct call 12142818910 name1 00:21:05 (0.704) 1.920

  21. Pavan Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    3 (60%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    4 (80%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    4 (80%)

    Hi all,
    I have been using rebtel for last 1 year it was really good in the beginning,but now I think its just waste of money because it has connection problems.I have been using both from my mobile and land-line ,mobile is OK but land-line is worst. It dosent connect at all, gives the prompts in different languages other than English. This is testing my patience now and I am over it.The worst part is you cannot even communicate or complaint to any one as there is no contacts given on the website. So guys please think twice before opting for rebtel else you will waste minimum $10

  22. matt of sydney Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    3 (60%)
    Ease of Use
    3 (60%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I have thrown so much money on phone cards until I found rebtel by chance. Mates this is great especially calling Africa. Rates are cheapest better than google and skype. Quality is very good. Log of how much credit is remaining, history and smartphone app are all great. Rebtel keep up the good work and may you succeed and keep bringing the rates down.

  23. Margaret Collins Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    Cannot get them to respond to my e-mail - I have sent
    two. They are in the communication business so why is this so? Like previous callers have stated, there is no
    phone number listed if one wishes to call. Upon reading the reviews, I find it difficult to believe that the
    quality varies so much from one individual to another, rather weird, I think. I tried their 5 minute free service and the quality was terrible - if that’s an indication of things to come, I will stick to what I have got.

  24. deeno Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    2 (40%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    I live in the USA and use Rebtel a lot. Honestly their service is superb, to my surprise the credit card information i have on record with Rebtel was fraudulently used by someone. My account was charged with $304 from buying some clothes from Gap europe international. I have never bought anything from europe before. My bank detected that my card was used in london at Gap europe international. They called me and i was surprised because i have never been to london before. I told them that the only transaction i had with any company outside USA was with Rebtel. I have since then changed my card and happy.

  25. Arun Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Best Voip ever for cheapest rates. I’ve been using it for more than 2 years now without any problems. The convenience of calling directly with your mobile is great.

  26. fraser Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    3 (60%)
    Reliability
    3 (60%)
    Ease of Use
    2 (40%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    Terrible customer service, prices are not to bad, but it isnt very user friendly!

  27. RZ Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    4 (80%)

    I have used lot of other services but at last settled with Rebtel. Call quality is really excellent; rarely had any problem. They once offered me credit for their service disruption which I did not experience.
    But before they gave lots of promotional offer; now they offer none. Also calling rates to Bangladesh was also increased (every other operator also increased cant complain!). I wish I could make calls at the previous rate!
    Highly recommended to people who are new to calling card world. I consider myself to be value oriented and I enjoy their service.

  28. Nagarajan Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    I found Rebtel has bad server. Most of the time when I try to call from Germany to India, it says network busy. I can suggest not to use from Germany. They have to increase the server capacity, I think so.

  29. otis Says:
    Overall Rating
    4 (80%)
    Sound Quality
    4 (80%)
    Reliability
    4 (80%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    3 (60%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    Since I discovered rebel I have been so happy with the service and I will encourage everybody to join, I always call Africa and its been wonderful no drop calls, the sound is good I wish they lower the rate a little bit more overall its magnificent.

  30. ana Says:
    Overall Rating
    2 (40%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    2 (40%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    3 (60%)
    Customer Service
    3 (60%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    cheap ? yes, but it’s very frustrating understanding the person you are talking to. The voice quality is bad, so much static and drop calls….. Philippines, can you hear me now???

  31. sadaf Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    the worst Pc to phone service I have ver used. I couldnt make calls.My money was just sitting in the account and I couldt make use of it.It has been happening Last 4 days and I cant stay in touch. I had to top up the earlier service that I was using.Just wasted my time time and money.Dont know if they will pay me back the money that is just sitting in the account. would “NEVER EVER”use Rebtel again. BE CAREFUL BEFORE YOU TOP UP

  32. kul degin Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    2 (40%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    3 (60%)
    Features
    3 (60%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    4 (80%)

    was good about a year and half ago, now service is rubbish - doesnt connect 60% of the time london to thailand via mobile.. have to call 8 times to connect once.. seriously gone downhill. i think now there are too many people using it thats making the service and reliability shit.

  33. Anja Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    4 (80%)
    Reliability
    4 (80%)
    Ease of Use
    4 (80%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I don’t understand why only unhappy customers write reviews. I’ve been using it for over a year calling Russia, UK, US and India, and never ever had any problems apart from calls dropping occasionally, but after 20 minutes or so. I think given the savings and the possibility to talk to our families on a daily basis without going bancrupt, we should be actually grateful and stop complaining. Try to call with your normal phone for a month and I tell you you will see the difference.

  34. Ed Ward Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    2 (40%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    2 (40%)

    I had the worse customer service experience from Rebtel. The representative didn’t fix my problem at all. Also, it took me more than an hour to be able to talk to someone who could help me out.

  35. Stephen Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    4 (80%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I’m quite impressed with this mobile VoIP. The features are simply the best and it is very affordable. Things like this make life a little easier. It’s great that you can use it anywhere and call anyone you like in a low price. I’m still a bit surprised why others have such low reviews.

  36. Cost Dentures Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    3 (60%)
    Reliability
    2 (40%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I am a satisfied customer for a long time now. Initially there were a few hiccups but everything was resolved to my satisfaction. It took a few phone calls and reminders to set thing right but overall it’s been nice experience. I agree that certain countries might have some problems because of the number of people calling but for my home it has been absolutely fabulous.

  37. Elcalafate Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    2 (40%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    4 (80%)

    I must admit that in the beginning the service was very good, after one month calling, now I decide to put $25 in, and since then the server was so bad , the line was all the time busy, couldn’t connect, what could I do ?

  38. Paul Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    3 (60%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    4 (80%)
    Features
    2 (40%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    2 (40%)

    I am not happy with this company. The calls I make to jamaica are very expensive and the online service will automatically charge your card without permission first. I feel that this is very poor business ethics. I wouldn’t be writing this if they would respond to my email.

  39. Niels Klassen Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    From the reviews I’ve seen above, rebtel is excellent to some, and terrible to others. There are a few reasons why Rebtel may be terrible to some people, and those reasons have nothing to do with Rebtel itself. Those problems may come from the condition of the network of the person receiving the call. For example, I call two phone numbers in a foreign country, one of them always has terrible quality, the other is ALWAYS stellar.

    The bad connection is due to the geographical location of the person receiving my call (at home in a remote location), but the good one is on a different network that has better coverage. Rebtel is not at fault for that. I’ve called many people using Rebtel, the good calls are always good, the terrible ones are always that way. It depends on the cellular network of the person that you are calling.

  40. Serge Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    4 (80%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    3 (60%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Very good so far.
    The fact that my friend in other countries can actually call me at anytime on a local number is fantastic. I pay for these calls, but it helps them staying in touch with me.
    Example: if I call a Swiss mobile phone, it would cost me 29c per minute using rebtel. However, if my friend in switzerland calls me from his mobile on my swiss number (that rebtel has provided him), the call only cost me 2c per minute (the landline rate). Amazing!
    And quality is very good.

  41. dan Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    2 (40%)
    Reliability
    3 (60%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    2 (40%)

    I like them but i am worried if they actually pay money to the respective tele companies in Africa where i do most of my business. I understand some of these african countries need the revenue from transnational calls. If this ‘ voip’ or call back feature is only enriching the fabulously wealthy swedes, i wont use them anymore

  42. Ololade Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    I have a problem with service there is no number to call if you need to ask a question for example recording on my phone change to another language I dont have a number to call to direct how to change it back to English

  43. Gary Hedgecock Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    Dont use rebtel. Gutted to have been ripped off. No customer care. No reply to emails. Ive wasted my money and time. Save your money and go with another company. All I can say is the owners of Rebtel will have bad karmer coming their way. I hope they buy an expensive drink with the money they made out of me and choke on it.

  44. S_A Says:
    Overall Rating
    3 (60%)
    Sound Quality
    3 (60%)
    Reliability
    2 (40%)
    Ease of Use
    4 (80%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Very good in terms of prices but my calls dont connect for 40-50% of the time. Asked for my money back and they returned it.

  45. Steve Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Best international calling I have found! So far never a problem. Very easy to use! I like everything about it!

  46. New Startup Says:
    Overall Rating
    4 (80%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    3 (60%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Excellent service. Never had any issues.

  47. Dan Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    I have been a subscriber for about 6 months, and the customer service has been great! I always receive a response to my emails, and I have sent a handful of them so far. I have had no problems with Rebtel’s technology, and the program is user friendly. Having the ability to use my Rebtel account through SKYPE if I want to make a PC to phone call is great as well. The rates are great, and I can only imagine how much companies the major phone companies are making when someone wants to call an international number. Why would ANYONE use a calling card when they can use Rebtel? There is no expiration on the fee you pay for the minutes you get along with NO monthly fee or maintenance fee. Nobody is paying me to say all this and I’m glad to promote their product. I cannot speak for the others who have had problems. I certainly have NOT any any problems with this company or its products. Rebtel, you rock!!!

  48. Kanning Says:
    Overall Rating
    4 (80%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    3 (60%)
    Ease of Use
    2 (40%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    3 (60%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    I have been using Rebtel for about 3 months. The call quality is good but it doesn’t always connect. I am China based and it is infinitely cheaper when my friends phone me on a local number than the other way round for me.

    However, I found that the BEST saving is from their Android App. When I travel to France, I use a local Orange Pay-As-You-Go card and I always buy the unlimited internet package, and local calls are very expensive. So there is practically no savings with Rebtel. The SMS rates offered by Rebtel App are very good - and on that alone, I saved a packet during my month long trip there.

    Very good service.

  49. Vueling Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    I have been using Rebtel for about 5months.

  50. Dawn Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    I began using Rebtel only about 3.5 weeks ago for my calls to the US from Europe and it has cost me, as of today, 28 Nov 2011, $850. I downloaded the iPhone app from the App store and immediately began using it. I had to wait 48 hours after making my first calls to make another call because the application suddenly would not connect my calls, yet I was being charged for them (less than 2 cents a minute, but it’s the principle). I contacted support using the link and wait almost 2 days for a response. I was told that I was dialing the numbers incorrectly, that I needn’t use the +1 prefix. So, I didn’t use them, and all went well, for a while. Then, the calls would connect, but I would have no audio. I again, contacted Rebtel via their support link and was told not to dial the numbers at all, that the new application allowed me to just use my list of contacts. Seeing that clicking on a contact’s phone number was easier, I decided to link my contacts to the Rebtel application. All of my favorite contacts were assigned Rebtel numbers, and the application told me how little I would be paying for my calls to my favorite people. I had clear calls initially, though they would get rather garbled eventually and then I would be switched to another type of call to “keep talking”, as the application says. Friends had a call back number to use when they contacted me they would let me pay for their “collect calls” through Rebtel. Everything was fine between Rebtel and me UNTIL I received my AT&T wireless bill. When I got my first AT&T bill since having the application, it was $456.66, more than $350 of that total was just for VOICE calls with international roaming. I was furious! If I am using Rebtel, why am I being charged international roaming? Furthermore, Rebtel was charging me for my calls as well (at their too-good-to-be-true rates). I was being charged twice for every single call! 1.5 cents a minute with Retel and $1.39 a MINUTE with AT&T. I immediately contacted Rebtel (via their support link) and several days later received a response form someone I thought to be in technical support. He that explained that I must have dialed incorrectly. I was a bit irritated by this time and told him that I was certainly NOT misdialing because I wasn’t dialing at all. He also hypothesized that I must not be actually using the application, that I was dialing the number directly, as if I were in the States. I responded to him, kindly, that i wasn’t doing anything wrong, that the application DOES NOT work as it should. He passed the problem on to another person, and this person was supposed to be in technical support. The technician kindly washed his hands of th case, and like everyone else, tried to console me saying that AT&T had exorbitant and “outrageous” international roaming charges, which I took as a joke I signed up for Rebtel to avoid those charges. Even more infuriating, the case appears to have been closed, as though I have written twice since receiving the last response, I have not heard from the company again. The last response had in the subject line CASE CLOSED, so they would like me to believe that I am somehow at fault for the problem. The last technician, despite the words typed in the subject line, said he would be looking into the matter further. I dared used the application to make some business class, and came home form a trip to find a message from AT&T: they’ve suspended my account because those last calls added another $597.02 to my bill. I have paid my bill and therefore have reinstated my account, so now it’s time to take action against the false friends at Rebtel. The application is faulty and they were warned several times and have made no attempts to work with me on the cost of international roaming fees I was supposed to be avoiding by paying them IN ADVANCE for the calls I would be making. Poor quality iPhone application (downloads). Poor customer service. Completely unreliable VOIP service. And if we consider the true price of the calls, Rebtel is certainly not who they say they are. Avoid this company until they do right by their customers. Victims, call your local Better Business Bureau.

    If you suspect you are being scammed by a business on the internet, there are a number of avenues you can take to get advice on how to litigate or prosecute even the international scam artists. If you’re in the US, contact 1-800-FED-INFO.

  51. Cushitic Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    2 (40%)

    I’m using Rebtel about a week now but I staring noticing problems with this company, when you try to calling through your PC & the calls will drop. I tried several times no connection at all plus they charged me without connection. I think it’s better to leave worthless company. I paid for the service why I do not get the service which I paid for. I’m wondering if whether the REBTEL is real company??? I’m thinking maybe they are scammer???

  52. Kl Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    It’s just like the phone card just that you call multiple people without being charge like the phone card. This service needs to be cheaper. I think the cost is on the higher side considering it is pc required.

  53. Ray Says:
    Overall Rating
    2 (40%)
    Sound Quality
    2 (40%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    2 (40%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    Pros - Calls can be made.

    Cons - Poor Customer Service - I have sent help e-mails through their website and just received a noreply auto response containing my message…?

    Online technical problems - If you try to send a sms, sometimes it sends to the wrong number although the correct number is selected meaning data is sent to the wrong person and extra credit needs to be used to unecessarily.

    - Rebtel Recommendation Credit, sometimes if you recommend a friend, the friend pays and they add credit to your account. Then they deduct the amount and state that the number has already received a bonus to justify the deduction. MOBILE NUMBERS ARE SWITCHED/PASSED ON ALL THE TIME BY PHONE PROVIDERS.

    They don’t even mention any details regarding the alleged number used or when it was used so if this info they’ve made a mistake there’s nothing you can do or say about it. BE WARNED IF YOU DO NOT RECEIVE A REC. BONUS FOR INVITING FRIENDS.

  54. M_W Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    At beginning it worked, but after several calls, it did not work. It said: NO SUCH NUMBER! I contacted Rebtel, it worked again. Recently, I tried to make a call, it was not work: NO SUCH NUMBER. Rebtel returned my queries. they said I dialed the wrong number. However, I tried a lot of times and it always same situation, I do not think I dialed wrong number. Then I told Rebtel, if I can’t use it, please refund my money. They sames very nice to reply and said need to have technician investigation, after that, I never received Rebtel’s reply.

  55. Angel Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    5 (100%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    5 (100%)
    Price
    5 (100%)

    Rebtel is awesome. I am an exchange student in the USA and used not to call very much my family back home. But since I discovered rebtel, I am calling all the time my folks to check on them. This is a great service, they do charge way less than phone cards services do.

  56. Ricky Singapore Says:
    Overall Rating
    2 (40%)
    Sound Quality
    3 (60%)
    Reliability
    2 (40%)
    Ease of Use
    3 (60%)
    Features
    3 (60%)
    Customer Service
    2 (40%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    I am using Samsung Galaxy SII Android Rebtel application. Lately I have seen two issue, which is really bothering me and I am reconsidering my decision to extend my relationship with Rebtel or not after the current credit runs out. They are: a) Earlier when I use to call a number that is not pre-registered in my contact list with Rebtel, i.e. that DOES NOT have 315XXXXX number assigned by Rebtel. the android application auto! matically use to assign a similar pattern number to that non-registered number and then call was successful. However, not when I call any unregistered number, it starts to call the other party w/o assigning any 315XXXXX number. b) Also, once I call any non-registered numbers with Rebtel, I can hear the other party but they cannot hear me. I have reported this issue 2 weeks back and nothing seems to be working on this front. Surprisingly this is not happening if the party is registered in my Rebtel account.
    Is any one else having the same issue? Thanks.

  57. Motley Says:
    Overall Rating
    5 (100%)
    Sound Quality
    4 (80%)
    Reliability
    4 (80%)
    Ease of Use
    5 (100%)
    Features
    5 (100%)
    Customer Service
    4 (80%)
    Price
    4 (80%)

    Rebtel are fantastic service, been using it for over a year to call kenya, best thing since sliced bread.

  58. shiv kumar Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    rebtel is a bull shit software. i have never seen a fucking useless software like this. it always disappoint me when i am in need to use this. i will never suggest this software to any one

  59. Guest Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    1 (20%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    the most annoying problem is it even rings even if the called party is off :)

  60. Dev Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    5 (100%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    1 (20%)

    Very complicated. Each number has to be programmed to a local phone number. Let me tell you, Rebtel is not cheap for India call, there are so many other VOIP(phonepower, vonage etc..) and services(onetouch, reliance etc..) which have competitive rates.

  61. rk Says:
    Overall Rating
    4 (80%)
    Sound Quality
    4 (80%)
    Reliability
    4 (80%)
    Ease of Use
    4 (80%)
    Features
    4 (80%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    3 (60%)

    I call India,tried providers GV,reliance,vonage,calling cards.kudos call quality is best,Price slightly high compared to 1-1.2c that calling cards offer,but you get what you pay for.quality of these calling cards suck big time.tried rebtel on mobile app with wifi calling,i couldn’t believe its crystal clear.the 1.69c worth it,no doubt.they are not backyard company.Recent news is they are investing very big money into this biz.Downside is tech support if you manage to run into problems

  62. mike aitken Says:
    Overall Rating
    1 (20%)
    Sound Quality
    4 (80%)
    Reliability
    1 (20%)
    Ease of Use
    1 (20%)
    Features
    1 (20%)
    Customer Service
    1 (20%)
    Price
    4 (80%)

    I’ve tried using Rebtel for some time to reach my friend from Jamaica from France.
    1. I got no free call that worked.
    2. After a few months when attempting to add funds I could not login for 2 weeks.
    3. The service center sent me 3 different login numbers, none of which worked.
    $. I can’t recommend them to anyone.

Write a Review

Ratings go from 1 being the worse, and 5 being the best.

Overall Rating
Sound Quality
Reliability
Ease of Use
Features
Customer Service
Price

RSS